Do you jive?

9 Mar

I’m definitely living on the wrong continent. I should be living somewhere in the UK. Lately it seems everything I’m into – music, movies, books – are by people in or about events in Great Britain. I recently watched a movie that I just fell in love with. Velvet Goldmine!  The whole movie wasn’t fantastic, but the music and aesthetics were great! It stars 4 of my favourite actors – Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Ewan McGregor, Christian Bale, and Toni Colette. The movie is loosely based on David Bowie (I’ve been in love with David Bowie ever since I Was 13 or 14 and was going through my dad’s old tapes, and came across The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars. We used to argue over the word “nazz” in Ziggy Stardust; my dad was certain he was saying “ass” because “nazz” isn’t a word! And I like “Dad, it’s David Bowie.. it isn’t a word and THAT’S why he’s saying it!)  and Iggy Pop, and oh my god, does Jonathan Rhys Meyers ever make a great 70s androgynous glam rockers! I actually just finished watching The Tudor for the second time last night (yes.. the whole series a second time).

and one day, when I finally have a dog.. I’m going to name him Ziggy!

Leave a Reply

