JUST GREAT

25 Mar

So I’ve been feeling really tired and sluggish lately, even when I get a full night’s rest! I usually start to feel like this around this time of year, and chalk it up to Vitamin D deficiency, or stress (when I was in school). But this year I just feel pooped by 3pm every day. So I took to Google to find out why and here’s something I found that I think could apply to me:

Fatigue Cause # 5: Food Intolerances

While food is supposed to give us energy, some doctors believe hidden food intolerances can do the opposite. According to Rudy Rivera, MD, author of Your Hidden Food Allergies Are Making You Fat, even mild food intolerance can leave you feeling sleepy. Eat the offending food long enough and you could find yourself feeling continually exhausted.

“Evidence indicates food intolerance as a cause of fatigue, and even suggests that fatigue may be an early warning sign of food intolerance,” he says.

If you suspect that food may be behind all that yawning, Rivera says to start with an elimination diet, cutting out foods that cause you to feel sleepy within 10 to 30 minutes of eating them. 

I have so many food intolerances it’s stupid – dairy, tomatoes, lemons, basically anything high a high level of acidity, I also can’t digest fat very well. Pepto Bismol is my best friend. It causes me a lot of problems like discomfort, diarrhea, and indigestion (sorry to get all personal on y’all!) AND NOW THIS?! Making me sleepy? COME ON! The only food that is supposed to make you sleepy is turkey on Thanksgiving!! I’m trying to think what I ate for lunch all week that would be a common denominator – pickles, feta, eggs… But that stuff doesn’t typically bother me. Feta is made with Goat’s milk and my body doesn’t have a problem digesting that. 

I’ve started a food journal to help me track what I’m eating and my symptoms!  I made a spreadsheet in Excel so I can track what I eat throughout the day and when I’m feeling tired, and maybe I’ll keep track of my stomach problems too. God, this is so much work.

Leave a Reply

