Summer Reading List

24 Aug

I can’t believe I didn’t blog about my summer reading list at the beginning of the summer! Where was my head? Anyways, I’ll do it now haha.

 

At the beginning, my summer reading list wasn’t very extensive, and was quickly added to as the season went on, but this is how it started:

My Booky Wook 2 – Russel Brand

American on Purpose – Craig Ferguson

Waking the Witch and Spellbound – Kelley Armstrong

Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

Ya, I know, pretty random, and SHORT! I wanted to ready My Booky Wook 2 by Russel Brand because I bought the first one as soon as it came out, and thought it was fantastic! I really enjoy watching Russell in interviews, and his book was very intelligent and hilarious. But the second one… well I think I made it to the 3rd chapter after skipping most of the 2nd chapter and then just quit. OMG was it ever.. what’s the word… trite. Hey, that’s the first time I’ve ever used that word! But holy mother eff, it was soo boring, so repetitive, and so wordy that it was hard to get through. One sentence about Kate Moss’s hair lasted an entire page. A  SENTENCE. I had no interest in it at all at that point and I just gave up. I rarely give up on a book. So that was a big disappointment. I just got American on Purpose the other day, so I’ll be starting to read that soon. I wanted to read this one because, again like Brand, I find Craig Ferguson HILARIOUS! He is so smart and self-deprecatingly charming, plus I really dig his accent. And I find the fact that he chose to become an American citizen really intriguing. Not being a big fan of my neighbours to the South, I want to know why he’s so passionate about his adopted country. I’ll let you know what I find out!

Waking the Witch and Spellbound are the latest books in a series I started reading last summer that I just devour! It’s purely for fun, I’m not going to learn anything important about life or anything like that, but the series is soooo well written and the characters so deeply developed that I just can’t put them down! Plus the author is female, Canadian, and I hear she’s actually from the Sudbury area, which is where I went to school for a few years!  I finished Waking the Witch the other week, and I’m waiting for Spellbound to come in. I’m sure I’ll have it read in a weekend, as WTW was a cliffhanger and I’m so curious!

Wuthering Heights – now this one is on the list because it’s a classic and I like reading “the classics” – the books that are on the Top 100 Books You Should Read Before You Die (I made that up) type lists. I actually started reading it in the winter, and it’s been sitting on my nightstand since, but I just love the for PBS version for TV with Tom Hardy so much that I just keep re-watching it instead of reading the book! haha MY BAD! http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1238834/

As I said up there, the list grew as the summer went on. A friend gave me Water for Elephants and One Day(which I blogged about) and loved both of them!! Water for Elephants was a bit slow in the beginning, but once Jacob gets really into telling the story of his circus adventure, I was staying up all night to read it. I was actually sad when it ended, as I wanted to know more about how the characters lives developped after they left the circus. (Whoops, spoilet alert if you haven’t read the book yet I guess haha). The same friend also read and loved The Help, so I just started reading that myself on the weekend. I love books where the characters have a different accent or way of speaking than I do, because I read it in my head in that voice. Is that weird? Please tell me other people do that too haha. I also read a companion book to the Kelley Armstrong series while I waited for Spellbound to came in. I think I did actually read that one in about a week. I just love her books.  I also read The Walk and Miles to Go by Richard Paul Evans. They are the first 2 books in what I believe is a trilogy. If you’re a fan of Nicholas Sparks, you’d really like these books. They aren’t too long but they have a really profound message and I really came away from them with a new perspective about dealing with hardships in life. But they aren’t too preachy or anything like that. Just a story about a guy dealing with a very tragic situation, who decided to sell all his belonging and walk from Seattle to Key West Florida, and all the things he discovers about himself and life.

What’s on my To Read list now? Well once I finish The Help I’ll be reading American on Purpose and Spellbound, and I think I’m going to re-read Catcher in the Rye because I lent it to my dad recently, and it’s been so long since I read it, I’d like to go back and see if I take away something different from it this time. I think I read it 5 times in highschool as a moody teenager, so I’d like to see if I see things differently as an adult. I’d also like to read more Jodi Picoult books. I read about 3 back to back this winter and absolutely loved every word.

What was on your summer reading list? Did you get it completed? Any books to recommend – let me know!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

