The Cove

7 Sep

I finally watched the documentary The Cove this weekend, and let me tell you, I was not prepared for that.

I had read and heard about the travesty that goes on during the annual dolphin drive in Japan, but I didn’t realize everything that was going on. I’m so thankful that brave crew risked their lives (really, they did, the security guards, police, even the goverment, were after them every step of the way and I have no doubt if they would have been able to get away with it, would have killed them) to get this information on film and out to the masses. What really shocked me is what the Japanese government is letting the fishermen get away with, and the political games the Japanese delegate of the IWC are playing. Truly disgusting people.

I’m not going to write out everything that they showed on film but I will direct you to several websites where you can get more information, and get involved if possible.

Often I read things on PETA’s website or on twitter and the like, and I feel useless because I don’t know how to get involved. I live in rural Northern Ontario, don’t have a lot of money to spare, and don’t know how to get in touch with these people to get involved – but even signing petitions, supporting causes on facebook, and tweeting about these issues brings attention and awareness to them. Every little bit helps.

http://www.takepart.com/cove

http://www.causes.com/causes/331088-the-cove-save-japan-dolphins

http://savejapandolphins.org/take-action/sign-the-petition

 

Leave a Reply

