Rainy day blues

13 Oct

Rain, rain, go away!

Does anyone else feel like this on rainy days? I find it nearly impossible to be in an energetic or happy mood on grey, rainy days. It’s so depressing to wake up and not see the sun. Or to get a soaker on the way to work. I most certainly do not look my best on rainy days, because I know it’s useless to dry and straighten my hair, so I just let it go au-nautrel which usually ends up half curly and half frizzy. You have to wear a sweater to keep warm. Don’t get me wrong, I love a big cozy sweater on a cold day, but not a rainy day. You get a bit wet and it chills you to the bone!

 

 

Does this guy look happy? No.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, needless to say, I am in a poopy mood today! I feel like I’m always in a poopy mood on rainy days, so I wanted to know whether this is like an actual phenomenon, or am I just using the weather as an excuse to be grumpy? So of course, I did some intense investigative research (read: googled “how the weather affects mood” and picked the first link that came up. it’s from MSN so you know it’s gotta be legit…) and found that … well, it was kind of a confusing article.

This columnist guy starts off by declaring that in no way does the weather affect our mood, because we are human beings with free will and can choose how we feel (does this guy know anything about biology and brain chemicals and all that jazz?) but than goes on to talk about some reasearch done in Europe that shows a small amount of change of mood does take place according to the weather – ” the study’s central conclusion was that the average effect of “good” weather on positive mood was minimal. Windy, cool and darker days seemed to have just a slight negative effect on mood, with many subjects reporting that they felt tired or sluggish.” Well that’s exactly what I’m saying! I’m a freaking scientist, you guys!

I’ve long thought that I probably suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) as I usually get into a pretty bad funk around the same time every year – February/March and all I do is lay in bed with a headache or yell at people and generally be pretty nasty. When I was in school this usually concided with major projects and essays being due, so it was always hard to determine what was really bugging me. Once my boyfriend did point it out to me though – he said something along the lines of it being that time of year again – so I’m not the only one noticing it. I’ve never talked to a doctor about it, but I want to buy one of those lamps that mimics the sunlight to see if it helps in the winter time. I think you can buy them at Walmart!

This is actually some pretty good advice, if like me, your good mood tends to come and go with the sunshine (from the MSN article http://health.msn.com/health-topics/depression/does-weather-really-affect-our-mood):

Ani Kalayjian, Ed.D., R.N., professor of psychology at Fordham University in New York, advises that we “can and should take proactive steps to strengthen the [brain’s] system” against weather-driven mood changes.

“We encourage people to take charge of their feelings,” says Dr. Kalayjian. Her self-help recommendations for SAD sufferers are applicable to anyone who wants to put a little sunshine in his or her step.

“Do things that make you feel good, like listening to uplifting music or reading a good novel. Look at pictures from a vacation—and if you can, take a vacation to a warm place.” All of the tried-and-true methods of mood improvement and stress management apply as well, including getting regular exercise, moderating alcohol intake and meditating.

“Feelings are transient; we can change them, transform them into positive,” concludes Dr. Kalayjian. You may not be able to will the sun to break through overcast skies, but you can empower yourself to break through an emotional cloud.

I don’t know about you, but I regularly read, exercise 4-5 days a week, only have a drink at social events a few times a month, and do yoga! What the hell else do you want me to do?! (told you I was grumpy today haha)

I guess on days like this I will just have to stick it out until I get home and can put my slippers on, curl up on the couch with my puppy and a good book, and enjoy that time. Good god, it’s only 10 in the morning.. this is gonna be a long day!

Guess I’ll be spending a lot of time on cuteroulette.com today watching funny animal videos – a sure fire way to cheer up!  http://cuteroulette.com/#/videos/view/196

Here’s hoping that you are in a sun-shiny good mood today!

Leave a Reply

