Shiver – Maggie Stiefvater

17 Jan

New book obession alert!!

I don’t do anything mildly do I? haha

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater is the first book in a trilogy (Shiver, Linger, Forever) about werewolves and love. I’m about half way through  the first one, and I’m hooked. This book is similar to Twilight as it’s about a teenage girl who is in love with a teenage boy who is also a “mythological” creature, but that’s where the similarities stop. This book is so well written! So far I’ve only read “incredulous” once (did Stephanie Meyer ruin that word for anyone else?) and I’ve legitimately laughed out loud on more than one occasion. The main female character is smart, indepedent, and strong willied (like Katniss Everdeen!) and the male lead is definitely swoon worthy. He’s got just enough angst and sensitivity in him to be believable, as he is a teenage boy,  and not all waaah-waaah cry baby. I’ve just gotten to the big climax of the story and I’m so excited to see what happens next. It’s not one of those books you should read before bed because you just keep reading and reading and then you’re too excited to sleep!

My boyfriend actually bought me the box set for my birthday last month, and let me tell you he is getting major brownie points for picking out such a winner. He said he wandered around the book store and noticed this one based on the cover, and then read the back, saw “Werewolves” and was like “Ya, she’ll like this” haha. And he was right on the money!

Check out the official micro-site for the books here and see what it’s all about! http://maggiestiefvater.com/shiver/

Plus, you gotta love someone who posts this on their website: “Here you’ll find—oh, you know what, let’s cut to the chase. I’m Maggie Stiefvater and I write books about werewolves and kissing.” She does write reeeaaally good kissing sequences. Woooh! If the main characters ever bang, I’LL need a cigarette!

Leave a Reply

