The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

27 Feb

Since the Oscar’s were last night, I thought I’d do another post about movies I’ve watched recently. Usually I try to watch all the movies nominated for Best Picture to see what the hype is all about, but this year I was just not interested in any of them! I watched War Horse and absolutely loved it,and I was really rooting for it last night, but like every single award went to The Artist. I was also disappointed that Gary Oldman didn’t win Best Actor, I didn’t love Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, but I think he deserves an Oscar for his entire career! Boooo, Academy.

Well I just tried to watch Hugo and turned it off after about 10 minutes. Sure the cinematography was stunning, but I don’t want to watch a creepy little boy (who I think is really a robot or something? from the snippets they showed during the Oscars last night that’s what I gathered) run around in a clock tower for 2 hours. It got boring fast. I’ve also had The Descendants and Tree of Life downloaded for weeks now, and I just have no desire to watch either of them. A friend is reading the Descendants right  now and she says it’s good, so I may check it out.

I also put on The Three Musketeers (with Orlando Bloom) this morning, but ignored most of it. It was also quite boring. I’ve been checking out TSN Trade Centre instead of really paying attention to the movie – never a good sign.

I did, however, really enjoy Immortals!! It was a bit long, but honestly that’s my complaint for most movies that come out now. Stick to the plot and character development, and leave out the 10 minute long scenic scenes. I get it, you can do wonders with CGI, but it gets soo boring. But I’m a big fan of Greek mythology, and this was an awesome movie. The special effects were really well done, and Henry Cavill was an awesome Theseus! (awesome to look at too… hot damn! why wasn’t he naked more often in The Tudors?) The girl from Slumdog Millionaire was really good, and Stephen Dorff was his usual brooding hotty self. The costumes were beautiful, the fight scenes were really intense (it was a lot more bloody and gruesome then I was expecting) so if you’re into that kind of story, I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

