The Hunger Games Big Debut!

26 Mar

Did you go see The Hunger Games on opening day Friday? I of course did! Along with everyone else in the world it seemed!

Third biggest opening of a movie ever!! $155 million dollars this weekend – that is just amazing. And the movie is keeping good company too – the other 2 movies that pulled in that much money opening weekend are Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 ($169.1 million) and The Dark Knight ($158 million). http://www.news10.net/entertainment/article/186329/37/Hunger-Games-devours-the-competition-at-box-office

So what did you think of it? *SPOILERS*

It was a bit different than I expected, but I still really enjoyed it! I tried not to read too many reviews before I went to see it so that nothing would be spoiled for me, although I did know they exaggerate the “love” connection between Katniss and Gale in the film, and give him a few more scenes than he had in the book. And really that’s fine. Keeps things interesting right? But the one thing I didn’t like was the lack of dialogue. In the book Katniss is a very quite, kind of stoic character, but that’s hard to pull off on the screen. She’s by herself so much at the beginning of the Games, but in the book we get her internal dialogue, and her thought process on everything. On screen it’s just scene after scene of Jennifer Lawrence running around with a weird look on her face. She could have at least been talking out loud to herself during those times. You don’t get a really good scene of Katniss as a person in the movie as you do in the books. She’s such a strong, independent, brace and smart character, so I was a bit disappointed with that. Not with Jennifer Lawrence at all, but I guess maybe a bit with the script? Josh Hutcherson and Lenny Kravitz stole the show for me though. Peeta and Cinna were my 2 fave characters in the book and I think they were portrayed perfectly on screen!

I’m going to go and watch it again this weekend. It really was that good!

Leave a Reply

